Messydress Costume Blog


Vintage Playgrounds

playground_HeightsRocket

I love old playground equipment! In my free & ignorant childhood, I mistakenly took these fantastic structures for granted! I mean, they look like stuff!

Like dinosaurs ..

playground_triceratops

..and tugboats!

playground_tugboat

Did I mention dinosaurs?!

playground_trex

I never thought there would come a day when I’d have to trade these wrought & welded behemoths in for cold, slippery, safe plastic structures. I miss the feel of thick,  globbed-on paint & warm iron bars on my bare palms & knees!

I miss old McDonald’s equipment the most!

playground_mayormccheese

As soon as I get a yard, I’m starting a collection! Or maybe re-creating some myself .. anyone out there a decent welder? Serious inquiries accepted!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hi, please i need a help from you, i am an artist and i am doing a research on old playgrounds, I would appreciate allot if you could contact me and send me some of this pictures in better resolution.

all the best
dejan

Comment by Dejan

Where were these taken?? I totally played on these SAME structures as a kid!!

Comment by Jennifer Lindeen Hickle




Leave a Reply

